Wednesday, April 4, 2012

April Book Club - The Two Krishnas

KhushDC is gathering once again to discuss a fascinating novel!

Our selection for April is The Two Krishnas, by Ghalib Shiraz Dhalla. This novel was just published in November and has a fascinating take on relationships, sexuality, and religion. A brief description and author bio, both from Amazon, are below. The book is available in hard copy, kindle, and nook formats. Please contact secretary@khushdc.org if you are having difficulty obtaining the book!

We will gather in Logan Circle. The exact address will be sent to all RSVP'd guests. Let us know if you're coming -- RSVP on Facebook or just email secretary@khushdc.org!

Book Club Meeting
Saturday, April 28
3pm
Logan Circle

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
In the tradition of A Fine Balance and The Namesake, The Two Krishnas is a sensual and searing look at infidelity and the nature of desire and faith. At the center of the novel is Pooja Kapoor, a betrayed wife and mother who is forced to question her faith and marriage when she discovers her banker husband, Rahul, has fallen in love with a young, male Muslim illegal immigrant who happens to be their son's age. Faced with the potential of losing faith in Rahul, divine intervention, and family, she is forced to confront painful truths about the past and the duality in God and husband.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Los Angeles-based writer-director-producer, Ghalib Shiraz Dhalla was born in Mombasa, Kenya. Dhalla's critically-acclaimed debut novel, "Ode to Lata," was hailed by The Los Angeles Times as “an achievement” and by the Library Journal as “brilliant.” In 2008, "Ode to Lata" was turned into the major motion picture "The Ode," which was written, produced and co-directed by Dhalla. A passionate activist, Dhalla also co-founded the South Asian program at the Asian Pacific Aids Intervention Team and is one of the founding members of Satrang, a support group for LGBT and questioning South Asians in Los Angeles.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~